When facing charges of aggravated assault in Tennessee, reach out to our criminal defense attorneys for strong legal guidance.
Any type of altercation that involves another person has the potential to result in criminal assault charges, even if there were no injuries involved. If you are accused of aggravated assault in Tennessee, it is important to be aware of the seriousness of the situation. Aggravated assault is a felony crime, and you could be facing severe penalties which include a potentially lengthy jail sentence. To protect yourself against a conviction, get our Manchester criminal defense attorneys at Burch & Lockhart fighting on your side.
Tennessee Aggravated Assault Laws
Aggravated assault is one of the most serious types of criminal charges you can face in Tennessee. Under Section 39-13-102 of the Tennessee Code, it includes an entire category of offenses, which involves intentionally or knowingly committing any of the following:
● Causing physical injury to another;
● Causing injuries due to strangulation;
● Using or brandishing a deadly weapon while committing a lesser offense, such as a simple assault;
● Being the parent or guardian of a child or disabled adult and allowing abuse to occur without attempting to help or protect the victim;
● Committing or attempting to commit an assault in violation of a protective order or probation agreement;
● Attempting to commit any of the above, regardless of whether anyone suffered actual injuries as a result of your actions.
You could also be facing aggravated assault charges in Tennessee even if you did not knowingly or intentionally commit a crime. Being what the court considers willfully reckless and negligent in causing injuries to another person could result in your arrest for aggravated assault. Examples include brandishing a gun, which accidentally goes off and injures another, or pushing someone out of the way in a crowd, causing them to fall and suffer serious injuries.
Penalties for Aggravated Assault in Tennessee
If you are charged with aggravated assault in Tennessee, it is important to contact our Manchester criminal defense attorneys immediately. Depending on the situation, penalties you could face through the Coffee County Criminal Court include:
● For aggravated assault in which you intentionally or knowingly committed a crime or failed to protect a child or vulnerable adult: This is a Class C felony, with penalties that involve fines up to $10,000 and up to a 15-year jail sentence.
● For aggravated assault in which you recklessly injured another person: This is a Class D felony, which involves fines up to $5,000 and up to 12 years in prison.
In addition to the criminal penalties you face upon conviction, you could also be required to pay restitution for any type of aggravated assault in which the victim suffered physical injuries or experienced pain and suffering as a result.
Our Manchester Aggravated Assault Attorneys are Here to Help
At Burch & Lockhart, we help build the strong legal defense you need to avoid the penalties associated with aggravated assault charges. To get our team working on your behalf, contact our Manchester criminal defense attorneys and request a consultation today.